My Family and Other Romans chapter book and activity pack

My Family and Other Romans chapter book and activity pack

Marie Basting
Regular price $14.20
/
  • UK shipping from £2.99 (Free on bookshop orders over £20)
  • Secure payments
  • Recyclable packaging
Tax included.

A laugh-out-loud historical adventure for kids aged 8+

Young readers will be entertained by My Family and Other Romans by Marie Basting, plus the accompanying activity pack, which we created for Parrot Street Book Club subscribers in September 2023.

My Family and Other Romans is a hilarious, time-travel adventure, with a brilliant cast of characters and packed full of fun. It's perfect for Key Stage 2 readers or anyone interested in Ancient History, and especially perfect for fans of Maz Evans's Who Let the Gods Out series or Louie Stowell's Loki books. We loved it!

~Emily

I’m Silvia Fortuna Juno De Luca: half-schoolgirl, half-goddess. Yes – actual Roman goddess.

But it all starts with Dad. He was messing about, re-enacting battles at Hadrian’s Wall, when – pow! – he’s transported to . . . Ancient Rome.

I go after him because someone has to. And now, the fate of my whole family rests on me . . .

Marie Basting lives in Manchester, with her husband, son and a giant hairy woo-dog called Polly, where she spends her days creating funny, feisty, fantastical stories for middle graders.

The activity pack includes book club-style questions to ponder and a recipe for a delicious honey cake. You'll also make a Roman-inspired mosaic, solve our Latin word puzzle and design a triumphal arch, alongside jokes, facts and further reading recommendations.

Activity packs are a handy A5 size and printed on uncoated paper which is fully recyclable.

We dispatch orders Monday - Friday.

  • Standard UK Royal Mail delivery £2.99 (free on bookshop orders over £25)
  • UK Express delivery also available from £5.50
  • International shipping available to select destinations (calculated at checkout according to weight)

Our packs are wrapped in a simple paper sleeve and sent out in a cardboard book wrap – we would be so grateful if you could recycle both.

More information on shipping

We don't include any paperwork in our parcels so you can send our book gifts directly to the recipient with confidence.

We'll happily add a handwritten note to your order. Simply leave your message in the box on the cart page.

This pack is also available as part of a gift set:

Our gift set collection

You may also like to browse our greeting cards & gift wrap

We are a monthly book subscription by post for children aged 5 to 14, focused on helping families discover new and different chapter books.

This title was sent to subscribers in the Cockatoo reading group, aged roughly 8 to 12.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
Recently viewed