Standard UK shipping FREE

Book gifts for kids under 10

Child holding Parrot Street packs

We’ve said it before, and we’ll say it again – book gifts make the best gifts. If you’ve got gifts for kids under 10 on your Christmas shopping list this year, you really can’t go wrong with a book. Adventure, imagination, rip-roaring humour – the best contemporary kids’ books have it all! And if you’re not sure where to start, don’t worry. We’ve put together a guide to some of the best book gifts for kids under 10 in 2022.

Funny books for kids under 10

Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good by Louie Stowell

 

Loki: A Bad God’s Guide to Being Good by Louie Stowell

Without a doubt the biggest book hit of the year at Parrot Street HQ. Not one but two volumes were published this year in our favourite new funny series, starring the trickster god Loki who finds himself stuck in the body of an 11-year-old boy. Packed with doodles and drawings, this is perfect for fans of Tom Gates et al.

Vi Spy: Licence to Chill by Maz Evans

Vi Spy by Maz Evans

There are now three volumes in this hilarious adventure series from one of our all-time favourite authors. Anyone who has read Who Let the Gods Out will tell you that Maz Evans is one of the funniest, most engaging children’s authors around. This series, with a kick-ass female lead, is a must for kids aged 7+.

The Dangerous Life of Ophelia Bottom by Susie Bower

The Dangerous Life of Ophelia Bottom by Susie Bower

This was a huge hit with our Cockatoo subscribers in September – a witty and highly original adventure story with an important message. We love the theatrical setting and slapstick humour almost as much as we love Ophelia herself! The Dangerous Life of Ophelia Bottom is available in our shop along with our fun-filled activity pack inspired by the book.

 

Fantasy books for kids under 10

Which Way to Anywhere by Cressida Cowell

Which Way to Anywhere by Cressida Cowell

The reigning queen of children’s literature is back with a brand-new fantasy series full of thrilling adventures and marvellous magic. The book features a diverse cast of characters and Cressida Cowell’s trademark wit and imagination, brought to life by her gorgeous illustrations. The hardback edition of this lovely book would make a great gift for the young bookworm in your life.

Amari and the Great Game by B. B. Alston

Amari and the Great Game by B.B. Alston

A book that we have been eagerly anticipating at Parrot Street HQ, this sequel to one of our favourite books of 2021 promises another dose of brilliant fantasy adventure with an inspiring female lead. This series is going from strength to strength, with a movie in the pipeline too. Any fans of Cressida Cowell or Rick Riordan will love this, as will gaming enthusiasts!

Future Hero: Race to Fire Mountain by Remi Blackwood

Future Hero: Race to Fire Mountain by Remi Blackwood

If it’s high-octane adventure you’re looking for, this brilliant new series, starring a strong male role model and inspired by African mythology, is just the ticket. We sent this to our Cockatoo subscribers earlier this year and it was a huge hit – super accessible, relatable and exciting. Our Future Hero box includes a copy of the book plus our bespoke activity pack – ideal for young readers aged 7+.

 

Books for animal-loving kids under 10

The Lost Whale by Hannah Gold

The Lost Whale by Hannah Gold

Hannah Gold’s multi award-winning The Last Bear was our book-of-the-year last year, combining phenomenal storytelling, an inspiring lead character, a stunning setting and an important message – all the ingredients that make a fantastic book for kids. This follow up to her bestselling debut is equally enchanting and perfect for animal lovers aged 8+.

Big Sky Mountain by Alex Milway

Big Sky Mountain by Alex Milway

The first in a gorgeous series that is perfect for newly independent readers, Big Sky Mountain was an easy pick for Parakeet subscription boxes earlier this year. Beautifully illustrated throughout and packed with wild adventure, wonderful animal friends and lots of humour too, this is ideal for young readers aged 5+. Our Big Sky Mountain box comes with lots of fun activities inspired by the book – raspberry biscuits, anyone?

A Wild Child's Book of Birds by Dara McAnulty

A Wild Child’s Book of Birds by Dara McNulty

Dara McAnulty, winner of the 2020 Wainwright Prize, has produced another inspiring book for young naturalists, taking the reader on a journey through a year in the life of birds, packed with facts and gorgeous illustrations throughout. If you’re looking for a non-fiction book gift for kids this year, this would definitely be our top pick.

 

Books with magic & imagination for kids under 10

Peanut Jones and the Twelve Portals by rob Biddulph

Peanut Jones and the Twelve Portals by Rob Biddulph

Author and illustrator Rob Biddulph is beloved of families everywhere thanks to his sanity-saving #DrawWithRob lockdown videos. This second volume in his illustrated chapter book series starring artistic superstar Peanut Jones is packed with magic, mystery and wonderful art. Illustrated throughout in Rob’s trademark style, this hardback edition would make a great gift for kids aged 8+.

The Marvellous Granny Jinks and Me by Serena Holly

The Marvellous Granny Jinks and Me by Serena Holly

For slightly younger readers aged 5+, this magical illustrated chapter book is packed with fun and mayhem. It’s a book in which anything is possible and was a huge hit with our Parakeet subscribers earlier this year. Grab a copy from the Parrot Street shop, along with our bespoke activity pack full of magical bookish fun!

The Big Amazing Poetry Book chosen by Gaby Morgan illustrated by Chris Riddell

The Big Amazing Poetry Book, chosen by Gaby Morgan and illustrated by Chris Riddell

This brand-new poetry collection, introduce by Roger McGough and beautifully illustrated throughout by Chris Riddell, is at the top of our Christmas list this year. Featuring the work of 52 poets, including Valerie Bloom, Joseph Coelho, Julia Donaldson, A. F. Harrold and Jackie Kay, this is a gorgeous gift that will last all year.

 

For more brilliant bookish Christmas gifts for girls and boys, head to our dedicated Christmas page, where you’ll find all the information you need on our gift subscriptions, gift sets and stocking fillers for young bookworms and more.

 

This post includes affiliate links to our bookshop.org page, meaning we receive a small percentage of the sale should you purchase through them. Additionally, a percentage from all sales on the platform goes directly to local UK bookshops which is an initiative we're delighted to support!