Our Christmas book edit

Published on Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Book and christmas mug in front of a christmas tree


Something they want
Something they need
Something to wear
And something to read

Have you started your Christmas shopping yet? With only a month to go, we’re sure you are already racking your brains for Christmas gift ideas. It won’t surprise you to hear that, in our opinion, books make the best gifts for kids of all ages!

Christmas is a great time of year for children’s books. There are so many gorgeous Christmas books and Christmas-inspired tales – you will be spoilt for choice picking out something to share with your loved ones during the festive season. To make it a little easier for you, we’ve put together this edit of our favourite Christmas children’s books.


For 5-year-olds: The Empty Stocking by Richard Curtis and Rebecca Cobb

The Empty Stocking book cover

Have you been good this year? Or are you on the Naughty List? Twins Sam and Charlie are a bit worried - no one is sure whether Santa is going to bring them any presents. This is a funny and heart-warming story of mistaken identity, sibling love and what might just happen if you’re not on your best behaviour! The perfect Christmas picture book, ideal for fans of Julia Donaldson.


For 6-year-olds: Santa Claude by Alex T. Smith

Santa Claude book cover

We love this hilarious illustrated series by Alex T. Smith about Claude the dog and his sidekick Sir Bobblysock. In this Christmas caper, Claude and Sir Bobblysock think they’ve heroically caught a burglar coming down the chimney – and inadvertently put Santa out of action. Can they deliver all the Christmas presents in time? Great for early readers making the leap from picture books to chapter books and perfect for fans of Lauren Child.


For 7-year-olds: The Fish in the Bathtub by Eoin Colfer

The Fish in the Bathtub book cover

We are big fans of Barrington Stoke’s Little Gems series, which commissions bestselling children’s authors to write short and accessible stories for early readers. This gentle, heart-warming tale is set in post-war Poland and tells the story of Lucja, his Grandpa Feliks and their traditional Christmas Eve fish supper. Perfect for young readers stepping up to chapter books and ideal for fans of Michael Morpurgo.


For 8-year-olds: The Christmasaurus by Tom Fletcher

The Christmasaurus book cover

This chapter book is the perfect Christmas read for families, one that we’ve read together again and again. William Trundle loves dinosaurs … and his dad LOVES Christmas. Throw in a bit of Christmas magic, flying reindeer and Santa Claus himself, and you’ve got a funny, magical story of friendship and adventure, perfect for fans of David Walliams.


For 9-year-olds: The Hundred and One Dalmatians by Dodie Smith

101 Dalmations book cover

This classic children’s book is set in the run-up to Christmas and has a wonderful wintery feel. It’s just written for reading by a roaring fire with a mug of hot chocolate in one hand and a mince pie in the other! Claude author Alex T. Smith has illustrated a new edition that has just been published in paperback and that definitely will be on our Christmas list this year. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.


In need of more book ideas? Check out our other recommendations here or you may want to consider one of our book subscriptions.