Once There Was

Cover of Once There Was by Kiyash Monsef

Once There Was

Kiyash Monsef
Regular price $19.31
/
  • UK shipping from £2.99 (Free on bookshop orders over £20)
  • Secure payments
  • Recyclable packaging
Tax included.

A dazzling debut for older readers aged 12+

Discover a world of extraordinary beasts and unexplained heroes in this New York Times bestseller


Once There Was is a gripping fantasy brimful with mythical creatures and perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Neil Gaiman and A.F. Steadman. This beautiful hardback edition makes a great gift for young bookworms.

~Emily

Once was, once wasn’t . . .

So began the stories Marjan’s father told her as a little girl – tales of mythical beasts that filled her with curiosity and wonder: Griffons. Unicorns. Dragons.

But Marjan is not a little girl anymore. After her father’s sudden death, she is trying to hold it all together: her schoolwork, her friendships and her dad’s struggling veterinary practice. But a mysterious visitor soon reveals that Marjan’s father was no ordinary vet. The creatures from his stories are real – and he travelled the world to care for them.

Stepping into a secret world hidden in plain sight, where magical creatures are bought and sold, treasured and trapped, Marjan must take her father’s place. The deeper in she gets, the closer she comes to a shocking truth that will put both humans and beasts in terrible danger.

Kiyash Monsef is an Emmy Award–nominated producer and director and a writer of short stories, videos, comic books, and games.

Number of pages: 416
Reading age guide: 12 to 14 years
Publication date: 4th April 2023
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781398520400
Format: Hardback

We dispatch orders Monday - Friday.

  • Standard UK Royal Mail delivery £2.99 (free on bookshop orders over £20)
  • UK Express delivery also available from £5.50
  • International shipping available to select destinations (calculated at checkout according to weight)

More information on shipping

We don't include any paperwork in our parcels so you can send our book gifts directly to the recipient with confidence.

We'll happily add a handwritten note to your order. Simply leave your message in the box on the cart page.

You may also like to consider adding gift wrapping or a greetings card from our gifts collection.

Greetings cards & gift wrap

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Recently viewed

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)